SL11B and the boating fraternity (or lack of)

I have some positive and negative comments about the SL11B. I’ll start with the positive so you don’t have to read the negative if you wish.

My friend Kitty who runs the Come Sail With Us group had a nicely decorated stand, free T-shirts an info about the sailing schools.

Go check out Kitty’s stand, a good place to start the tour of the SL11B event. Click here for Landmark. SL11B runs for another 2 days, so get there this weekend.

Snapshot_3188

The Leeward Cruise Club had a stand with info and some nice yachts on display.Snapshot_3189

Hollywood Sims had a Tugby pool. Nothing much was going on though when I visited.Snapshot_3190

The SL Coast Guard had a wonderful stand. An action scene of a stranded person in the water and a boat and heli rushing to save him. I met two very nice men in uniform – who can resist a nice guy in uniform 🙂Snapshot_3191

They let me take a selfie with them 🙂
Snapshot_3199

Do I look serious enough to join the Coastguard? I was giggling, I do admit 🙂
Snapshot_3200

Blake Deeps had a stand with various info on the activities in their area.

Snapshot_3192

Snapshot_3193

The SL Surfing Association had a stand. I think a standing wave with get-up-and-have-a go might have been more fun and interactive, but it was nice to see them here anyway.Snapshot_3194

 

So that brings me to the end of the positive. I hate being negative, but here-goes…

I must admit that the first I heard about SL11B was when I saw a message somewhere (can’t remember where) that the entries were closed for SL11B application. Why wasn’t there more info out before? Us yachties questioned whether there was a sailing presence at SL11B, but that question was raised only after the  entries were closed 😦

Anyway, back to the event. It is big and you basically have no idea on where to go and what to see. Most of the stands are not manned so nobody is there to tell you anything (exception being the SL Coast Guard stand).

This below is the Welcome centre apparently. A whole sim of the most unwelcoming building I’ve ever seen. Where to go, what to do, where next? No clue. Empty except for little me…
Snapshot_3196

The view from the welcome centre – still no clue…
Snapshot_3197

And a general view of the SL11B – still no clue… A mish-mash of construction, no real theme, no route or logical way of navigating, no real desire to visit the random stands. Building big just makes the stands look confusing, even flying around doesn’t help.
Snapshot_3195

There was a sim that seemed busy, it had a party on with a sort of techno beat. I wasn’t in the mood and there were no nice guys there anyway so I went home for a sail instead.Snapshot_3198

Perhaps Next year, if there is still a SL,  there may be a better presence from us boaties. I for one will try and put together something a little more representative of the yachting and boating activities in SL. What a missed opportunity this year!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “SL11B and the boating fraternity (or lack of)”

  1. There would be much to say. Not the right place. To be short:
    1. who run away are always in the wrong
    2. which doesn’t mean the present “representatives” are in the right.
    But at least, they’ve got something in common, something I can’t stand anymore. But for their defense: they do.

Leave a Reply

